Sunday, Sep 25th

Last update10:40:33 AM GMT

You are here::

JP ministers 'resign'

E-mail Print PDF

Four Jatiya Party's ministers in the 'all-party' cabinet have handed in their resignation letters to party chief HM Ershad, a day after he told them to resign.

They are Civil Aviation Minister Ruhul Amin Hawlader, Commerce Minister Ghulam Muhammed Quader, Youth and Sports Minister Mojibul Haque Chunnu, and State Minister for Women and Children Affairs Salma Islam.Party Secretary General Hawlader told the press on Thursday that Health Minister Rowshan Ershad was on her way.He said he had spoken with Water Resources Minister Anisul Islam Mahmud, and the Prime Minister's Adviser Ziauddin Ahmed Bablu.Mahmud and Bablu had held meetings with the Prime Minister on Tuesday after Ershad announced his decision to back off from the polls.Awami League leaders had said the Jatiya Party was 'with them'.Ershad had recently quit the Awami League-led Grand Alliance but allowed his party leaders to remain be in the polls-time cabinet.The former President met Indian Foreign Secretary Sujatha Singh on Wednesday. Later, he said the Jatiya Party would not contest the general elections and ordered his party leaders to resign from the interim cabinet.On Thursday, Rowshan, Hawlader and Chunnu met the Prime Minister. The vehicles carrying Rowshan and Hawlader did not sport the national flag.The ruling party leaders have termed Ershad's latest move 'suicidal' but are still hoping the Jatiya Party will join the polls.