Tuesday, Sep 27th

Last update10:55:38 AM GMT

You are here::

2nd day blockade marks violence

E-mail Print PDF

Staff Reporter
The second day of the nationwide 72-hour road-rail-waterway blockade, enforced by the BNP-led 18-party alliance, was marked by stray violence at different parts of the country on Sunday.
According to reports, at least 135 people, including cops, were injured as the blockaders clashed with law enforcers and the ruling party men.
Besides, over 50 crude bombs were blasted while 55 vehicles either vandalized or torched and some 30 opposition men arrested on the second day of the protest program.
In the capital, opposition activists blasted crude bombs and brought out processions in different parts, including Uttar Badda, Naya Bazar and Basabo. Blockaders also set a bus ablaze at Matuailam.
 Incidents of violence were also reported from different districts, including Sylhet, Sunamganj, Jhenidah, Sirajganj, Thakurgaon, Laxmipur, Chuadanga and Narayanganj.
The third-spell blockade started at 6am Saturday and it will continue until 6am Tuesday if it is not extended further as done during the previous two spells.
Besides, a 12-hour shutdown, enforced by city unit BNP, protesting the arrest of its convener Sadeque Hossain Khoka, passed off amid the blockade program on Sunday.
The first day of the blockade was marked by stray incidents like clashes, arson attacks, bomb blasts and vandalism in different parts of the country.
After the end of the 131-hour blockade program protesting the election schedule, BNP joint secretary general Salauddin Ahmed on Thursday announced the 72-hour nationwide one through a video message sent from an undisclosed location.
 The opposition combine earlier enforced 202 hours of road-rail-waterway blockade across the country in two spells -- 71-hour and 131-hour ones -- after the announcement of the election schedule for the 10th parliamentary elections that left at least 45 people dead.
On November 25, the Chief Election Commissioner announced that the 10th parliamentary elections will be held on January 5 next.