Wednesday, Sep 28th

Last update01:45:33 PM GMT

You are here::

US-Bangla Airlines’ domestic flight inaugurated

E-mail Print PDF

Staff reporter

Civil Aviation and Tourism Minister Rashed Khan Menon on Wednesday inaugurated the domestic flight of US-Bangla Airlines at Hazrat Shahjalal International Airport.

The flights of the airlines on Dhaka-Chittagong and Dhaka-Jessore routes will, however, start operating on Thursday.

Addressing the inaugural function, the minister asked the airlines companies to ensure safety and improved services for passengers before making profits.

He urged both local and international entrepreneurs to invest in the sector assuring that the government will provide assistance to them if they come up with greater investment.

Civil Aviation and Tourism Secretary Khurshed Alam Chowdhury, Managing Director of the US-Bangla Airlines Abdullah Al Mamun and Director (admin) of the airlines Khan Md Nazib were among others, present at the function.

Nazib told UNB that two flights will initially run on the Dhaka-Chittagong route a day, while one flight on Dhaka-Jessore route.

The number of Dhaka-Chittagong flights will be raised to four, while that of the Dhaka-Jessore to two. And one each flight on Dhaka-Sylhet and Dhaka-Cox’s Bazar routes will be introduced 15 days after the inauguration of its domestic flights, Nazib said.

He said the airlines will launch its flights to other destinations across the country and increase the number of its flights in phases.