Thursday, Sep 29th

Last update12:02:43 PM GMT

You are here::

Dhaka-Delhi JCC meet soon in New Delhi

E-mail Print PDF

Staff Reporter

Bangladesh and India are in discussions to fix the date for holding the third Joint Consultative Commission (JCC) meeting soon in New Delhi to review the status of the relations between the two countries and take that to a new height.

Indian High Commissioner in Dhaka Pankaj Saran on Wednesday met Foreign Secretary M Shahidul Haque at the latter’s office at the Foreign Ministry.

“I met him just to discuss the status of our relationships following the visit of our Minister (Sushma Swaraj),” he told reporters after the meeting adding that the meeting was part of a broader consultation.

Asked whether the date of JCC is fixed, Pankaj Saran said they are in the process of discussion. “We’re exactly discussing the date…the date is not fixed yet.”

The Indian diplomat said both the ministers are agreed on holding the next JCC.

Responding to another question, he said, “I’m sure within the next few months, you’ll see various steps taken.”

The second JCC was held in Dhaka on February 16, 2013.

He also said holding the Joint River Commission is also in the pipeline.

Earlier, he held nearly an hour-long meeting with the Foreign Secretary from 3pm.