Monday, Apr 21st

Last update01:27:59 PM GMT

You are here::

Graft allegations ACC sends notices to Petrobangla chairman, 13 MDs

E-mail Print PDF

Staff Reporter
The Anti Corruption Commission (ACC) has launched a probe into the graft allegations against Petrobangla chairman Prof Dr M Hossain Monsur and 13 managing directors of its associate companies.
The Commission at its regular meeting on Sunday decided to conduct probe into the graft allegations and appointed its deputy director Ahsan Ali as an inquiry officer in this regard, ACC public relations officer Pranab Kumar Bhattacharya told yesterday.
After getting the new assignment, ACC inquiry officer Ahsan Ali has already sent notices to the Petrobangla authorities asking them to send relevant documents of the graft allegations, and he himself visited its head office here today in this regard.
ACC sources said the 13 managing directors of Petrobangla’s associate companies swindled over Tk 200 crore while implementing its various development works in the last four years, and the responsibility for it also goes to the Petrobangla chairman as he did not take action against them.
According to the allegations the ACC received, Prof Hussain Monsur with the help of his ‘associates’ appointed a number of employees in its 13 companies in the last four years ignoring rules and regulations and took bribes from job seekers.
The parliamentary standing committee on power and energy also found irregularities in appointing officials to the 13 companies, according to the allegations.
Bangladesh Mineral Oil and Gas Corporation (Petrobangla), a state-run organisation, is involved in exploration of oil gas and mineral resources.
The 13 associate companies of Petrobangla are Bangladesh Petroleum Exploration and Production Company Limited, Sylhet Gas Fields Limited, Bangladesh Gas Fields Company Limited, Gas Transmission Company Limited, Titas Gas Transmission and Distribution Company Limited, Jalalabad Gas Transmission and Distribution System Limited, Bakhrabad Gas Distribution Company Limited, Paschimanchal Gas Company Limited, Karnaphuli Gas Distribution Company Limited, Sundarban Gas Company Limited, Rupantarita Prakritik Gas Company Limited, Barapukuria Coal Mine Company and Maddhapara Granite Mining Company Limited.

Share this post