Friday, Apr 25th

Last update01:10:43 PM GMT

You are here::

HC exonerates 8 journo leaders from contempt charge

E-mail Print PDF

Staff reporter
The High Court on Wednesday exonerated eight journalist leaders from contempt of court charge as they appeared before it in compliance with its summons.
Passing the order, an HC division bench comprising Justice Naima Haider and Justice Zafar Ahmed also disposed of its rule on contempt issued upon two Bangla dailies -- Samakal and Naya Diganta -- for publishing an impugned statement on a sub-judice matter.
On Sunday (March 9) the HC issued the rule during hearing midway on a contempt of court charge faced by Mizanur Rahman Khan, joint editor of the daily Prothom Alo, when senior lawyer Rokanuddin Mahmud drew attention of the court on the statement made by the journalists and published in the two dailies.
Issuing the rule, the HC had also asked the eight journalists -- Dhaka Reporters Unity (DRU) president Shahed Chowdhury and its general secretary Ilias Khan, Barisal Journalists Union president and secretary, Dhaka University Journalists’ Association and Jagannath University Journalists Association -- to appear in person before it today (Wednesday) to explain their position demanding withdrawal of Rokanuddin’s blanket remarks criticizing journalists during argument on the contempt case of Prothom Alo before it.

Share this post