Wednesday, Apr 16th

Last update03:15:16 AM GMT

You are here::

ICC World Twenty20 cricket B’desh-Afghanistan opening match today

E-mail Print PDF

Sports Reporter
Hosts Bangladesh will take on newcomers Afghanistan in a do or die opening match of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 today at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.
The match will kick-off at 3.30 pm.
Gazi Satellite Television (GTV) and Star Sports will telecast live all the matches of the ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014.
The 35-match men’s and 27-match women’s ICC World Twenty20 Bangladesh 2014 is scheduled to take place in Dhaka, Chittagong and Sylhet from March 16 to April 6.
On completion of the qualifying round, the Super-10 phase will kick off on March 21 with India-Pakistan high voltage match at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur while defending champion West Indies will start their campaign taking on India on March 23 at the same venue
For the first time in the history of ICC World Twenty20, a record 16 teams -- all the 10 full members and six associate members - are taking part in the 22-day meet.
The top eight teams in the ICC T20 rankings entered the Super-10 stage directly. The remaining eight teams, including ICC full member Bangladesh and Zimbabwe, will compete in the group stage, from where only two teams will qualify for the Super-10 stage.
This is the first time for Bangladesh and the 2nd consecutive time for an Asian country to host the exciting world event after Sri Lanka, which hosted the previous edition of the meet in 2012.
Ten full member countries of ICC--Australia, England, India, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh-along side six associate members--Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Ireland, Nepal, Netherlands and United Arab Emirates--are taking part in the attractive version of cricket.
Two full member countries of ICC---hosts Bangladesh and Zimbabwe-will have to play in the eight-team qualifying round along with six associate member countries for two seats of Super-10.
Grouping of the first phase qualifying round are: Group A: Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Hong Kong; Group B: Zimbabwe, Ireland, UAE, Netherlands.
On completion of the league basis group stage, the two top teams from each group will join the Super 10 stage along with eight top teams of ICC ranking.
In Super 10 stage, the team again divided in Group A and Group B. Group A: Sri Lanka, England, South Africa, New Zealand and Qualifier B1. Group B: West Indies, India, Pakistan, Australia and Qualifier A1.
After the group matches, top two teams from each group will reach the semifinals while the finals of both the men’s and women groups at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur on April 6.
India clinched the title of inaugural meet beating Pakistan in 2007, Pakistan won the 2nd edition crown beating Sri Lanka in 2009, England, which had never won ODI World Cup, clinched the third edition of ICC World T20 beating their old foe Australia in 2010 while West Indies clinched the 4th edition title beating host Sri Lanka in 2012.
Bangladesh squad (probable): Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (Captain), Mominul Haque, Nasir Hossain, Mahmudullah /Sabbir Rahman, Farhad Reza/Sohag Gazi, Mashrafe Mortaza/Al-Amin Hossain, Abdur Razzak and Rubel Hossain.
Afghanistan squad (probably): Mohammad Shahzad (Wkt), Nawroz Mangal, Karim Sadiq, Shafiqullah, Mohammad Nabi (Captain), Najibullah Zadran, Gulbadin Naib, Samiullah Shenwari, Dawlat Zadran, Shappoor Zadran and Hamza Hotak.

Share this post