Sunday, Apr 20th

Last update12:47:45 AM GMT

You are here::

30 DU students get Mitsubishi UFJ Foundation Scholarship

E-mail Print PDF

Staff Reporter
Mitsubishi UFJ Foundation of Japan has awarded scholarships to 30 meritorious undergraduate students of different Departments of Dhaka University (DU).
Chairman of the Mitsubishi UFJ Foundation Shigemitsu Miki distributed the scholarships among the students at a function held at Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the DU on Monday.
Chaired by DU Vice-Chancellor Prof Dr AAMS Arefin Siddique, the function was addressed by Japanese Ambassador Bangladesh Shiro Sadoshima as chief guest and Managing Director of the Mitsubishi UFJ Foundation Yoshiaki Ozawa as special guest.
DU Treasurer Prof Dr Md. Kamal Uddin gave the vote of thanks. Acting Director of Planning and Development Institute of Dhaka University Jiban Kumar Mishra moderated the program.
Speaking on the occasion, Prof Arefin Siddique hoped that the scholarships given by Mitsubishi UFJ Foundation would play an important role to promote human resources development in Bangladesh.
He said bilateral relationship in various sectors between the two countries has been continuing for a long period. “Japanese people and media extended their all out support and cooperation during the Liberation War of our country in 1971.”
The DU vice-chancellor also hoped that friendly relationship between Bangladesh and Japan will be strengthened in the future.
Japanese Ambassador Shiro Sadoshima urged the students to work together to establish a developed and peaceful Bangladesh.
He expressed the hope that Japanese contribution to socioeconomic development in Bangladesh will be continued and bilateral relationship between the two countries will increase further day by day.
 Recipients of scholarships for different years: Kh. Nasir Uddin (Arabic), Anindita Rani Bhowmick (Zoology), Asmaul Hosna (Zoology), Most. Sonia Khatun (Statistics. Biostatistics & Informatics), Md. Nahid Ferdous Pabon (Economics), Sumaiya Chowdhury (Soil, Water & Enviroment), Sumaiya Farhana Sumi (Linguistics), Md. Harunur Rashid (Public Administration), Shujit Kumar Bala (Mathematics), Muhammad Mominur Rahman (Applied Chemistry & Chemical Engineering), Asia Afrin (Accounting & Information Systems), Md. Zafar As Sadiq (Nutrition & Food Science), Tanima Saha Shampa (Marketing), Afsana Jahan (Pharmacy), Shamsia Sobhan (Applied Statistics), Umme Salma Sumi (Microbiology), Juthika Mandal (Microbiology), Tanima Megdalina Corraya (Peace & Conflict Studies), Ram Prosad Chakrabarty (Microbiology), Umme Habiba (Islamic Studies), Mirajul Islam (Statistics. Biostatistics & Informatics), Md. Uzzal Hossain (Botany), Anik Paul (Biochemistry & Molecular Biology), Nafisul Huq (Public Administration), Mst. Jannatul Mawa (Tourism & Hospitality Management), Farjana Hamid (Music), Saju Shaha (Marketing), Md. Abu-Al-Islam (Botany),Hasibul Hasan (Statistics, Biostatistics and Informatics) and Marjia Sultana (Nutrition & Food Science).

Share this post