Thursday, Apr 17th

Last update11:49:26 PM GMT

You are here::

48 women MPs elected unopposed

E-mail Print PDF

Staff Reporter
The Election Commission on Wednesday declared 48 women MPs elected unopposed from reserved seats as they had no rival.
Returning Officer Jesmin Tuli issued a notification declaring them elected unofficially.
Of the 48 women MPs, the largest number of 38 had been nominated by the ruling Awami League, while five by HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party, three by a coalition of 16 independent MPs and one each by Workers Party and JSD.
The AL-nominated candidates are Selina Jahan Lita, Safura Begum, Hosne Ara Lutfa Dalia, Advocate Umme Kulsum Smriti, Begum Akhter Jahan, Selina Begum, Selina Akhter Banu, Laila Arjuman Banu, Shirin Nayeem, Kamrul Laila Jolly, Happy Boral, Rifat Amin, Nasima Ferdousi, Lutfun Nesa, Momtaz Begum Advocate, Advocate Tarana Halim, Monwara Begum, Mahjabin Khaled, Fatema Zohra Rani, Dilara Begum, Fatematuz Zohura, Fazilatunnesa Indira, Pinu Khan, Sanjida Khanam, Nilufar Jafar Ullah, Rokhsana Yasmin Chhuti, Advocate Navana Akhter, Asmatul Kibria Keya Chowdhury, Shamsun Nahar Begum, Fazilaunnesa Bappy, Wasika Ayesha Khan, Jahanara Begum Surma, Firoza Begum Chinu, Amina Ahmed, Sabina Akhter Tuhin, Rahima Akhter, Advocate Hosne Ara Bably and Kamrun Nahar Chowdhury Lovely.
The Jatiya Party candidates are Nur-e-Hasna Lily Chowdhury, Mahzabin Morshed, Merina Rahman, Rawshan Ara Mannan and Shahanara Begum.
Lutfa Taher, wife of late Col Taher, is from Jasad while Hazera Khatun from Workers Party.
The remaining three candidates - Kazi Rosy, Nurjahan Begum and Umme Razia Kajol -- are from the alliance of independent candidates.
Earlier, the ruling Awami League submitted a list of 41 aspirants of the AL-led six-party parliamentary alliance comprising JSD, Workers Party, Tarikat Federation, Manju-led Jatiya Party and BNF to the returning officer to run the election against the same number of allocated posts.
Six aspirants submitted nomination papers from HM Ershad-led Jatiya Party.
But the returning officer rejected the nominations of Sabiha Nahar and Khorshed Ara Haque on the grounds that the two MP aspirants did not pay their telephone bills at least seven days before the submission of nomination papers.
Later, the Election Commission as the appeal authority rejected their petitions challenging the decision of the returning officer.
Sabiha Nahar owes Tk 11,835 to Bangladesh Telecommunications Company Ltd (BTCL) while Khorshed Ara Haque has huge outstanding dues of Tk 223,488 in telephone bills.
According to rules, the number of reserved seats is allocated among the political parties and the alliance as per the proportion of their representation in Parliament.
On February 23, the EC announced the polls schedule for the reserved seats which are exclusively for women, fixing the voting for March 29, but the date was later shifted to April 3.

Share this post