Friday, Apr 18th

Last update01:14:43 PM GMT

You are here::

Final phase UZ polls today

E-mail Print PDF

Staff reporter
Elections to 73 upazila parishads in 34 districts across the country will be held today amid tight security wrapping up the last and final phase local government polls.
The voting will open at 8am and continue until 4pm without any break, according to the election commission.
A total of 1056 candidates are contesting in the elections for 219 posts, including 362 as chairman candidates and 418 as vice chairman contenders.
The vice chairman posts for women have 276 candidates said the EC secretariat.
There are 1,38,91,751 voters - 69,30,269 men and 69,61,482 women - eligible to vote.
The EC has set up 34,885 booths in 5,534 polling stations in the upazilas.
Monday’s election excludes Thakurgaon sadar upazila where voting has been postponed following court order.
Election Commissioner Mohammad Abdul Mobarak on Sunday said the Monday’s voting will be fair.
One platoon of the army members was deployed Saturday in each of the upazilas going to polls on Monday, Mobarak said. The troops will work as a striking force to maintain an election-friendly environment in the areas until Wednesday, he said.
BGB members have also been deployed as striking force, he said. A team of 15-16 security men will guard each polling station.
As many as 292 magistrates - 219 executive and 73 judicial ones - have been appointed to lead mobile courts in the election areas to tackle any possible election violence and violation of polls codes.
Some 1,10,000 election officials will be on election duty during the voting. Of the officials, 5,534 are presiding officers, 34,885 assistant presiding officers and 69,770 are polling officials.
The 73 upazilas are Biral, Parbatipur and Hakimpur of Dinajpur, Domar of Nilphamari, Kaliganj of Lalmonirhat, Fulchhari, Sundarganj of Gaibandha, Bogra Sadar, Poba of Rajshahi, Belkuchi and Shahjadpur of Sirajganj, Bera and Sadar of Pabna, Alamdanga and Sadar of Chuadanga, Debhata, Sadar and Tala of Satkhira, Bamna, Patharghata, Sadar and Amtali of Barguna, Dashmina and Kalapara of Patuakhali, Ghatail, Sadar, Mirzapur and Gopalpur of Tangail, Madarganj of Jamalpur, Gafargaon, Trishal and Nandail of Mymensingh, Ashtagram and Pakundia of Kishoreganj, Tongibari, Sirajdikhan and Louhajong of Munshiganj, Sreepur and Kaliganj of Gazipur, Manohardi, Sadar and Raipura of Narsingdi, Sonargaon, Rupganj and Araihazar of Narayanganj, Goalanda of Rajbari, Biswambhapur and Tahirpur of Sunamganj, Biyanibazar of Sylhet, Juri and Rajnagar of Moulvibazar, Baniachong of Habiganj, Kasba, Ashuganj and Sadar of Brahmanbaria, Muradnagar and Chandina of Comilla, Chhagalnaiya of Feni, Subarnachar and Hatia of Noakhali, Ramgati, Ramganj, Raypur and Sadar of Laxmipur, Sandeep of Chittagong, Teknaf, Ukhia and Sadar of Cox’s Bazar, Dighinala of Khagrachhari, and Langgadu, Rajasthali and Bilaichhari of Rangamati.

Share this post