Thursday, Sep 29th

Last update12:02:43 PM GMT

You are here::

Sirajganj-3 by-poll Dec 23

E-mail Print PDF

Staff Reporter
By-polls to the Sirajganj-3 (Raiganj-Tarash) constituency that fell vacant following the death of Awami League MP Ishaque Hossain Talukder will be held on December 23.
The Election Commission issued a gazette notification declaring the election schedule on Tuesday.
According to the schedule, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers is November 20, while the date for scrutinizing the nomination papers is November 22 and the last date for withdrawal of candidature is November 30.
The parliamentary constituency no 64, sirajganj-3 has a total of 3,31,336 voters --1,64,539 men and 1,66,797 women-and they will be able to exercise their franchise through 131 possible polling stations in the by-polls.
The constituency is comprised of one municipality (Raiganj) and 17 union parishads - nine union parishads of Raiganj upazila and eight union parishads of Tarash upazila.
The EC’s Rajshahi regional officer was appointed the returning officer for the by-election, while Sirajganj district election officials and Tarash upazila election officer will act as assistant returning officers.
As per article 123 (4) of the Constitution, the commission has a legal obligation to arrange the by-election by January 4, 2015, said the notification.
Ishak Hossain Talukder MP died of cardiac arrest at the age of 62 on October 6 this year.