Monday, Sep 26th

Last update10:41:06 AM GMT

You are here::

Host-Zimbabwe 2nd ODI today

E-mail Print PDF

Sports Reporter
With an advantage of 1-0 lead, the Bangladesh-Zimbabwe second match of the five-match Bashundhara Cement ODI series to be held today at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.
The day-night match will start at 12:30 pm instead of 1:30 pm.
After a long win-drought in 13 ODI matches, the Bengal Tigers tested their first victory in 2014 beating the Zimbabweans by 87 runs in the first match of this series on Friday.
The ongoing 5-match ODI series is an opportunity for Bangladesh for their rankings points.
A 5-0 series win for Bangladesh would open up a 22 point gap over its Zimbabwe, while a 4-1 score line would lead to a lead of 17 points and a 3-2 series win would see host Bangladesh retain a nine-point advantage.
Bangladesh had broken the deadlock of win riding on all-round performance by Shakib Al Hasan, who made the first ton after three years scoring his sixth ODI century along with four wickets haul which was a nightmare for Zimbabwe.
Shakib also made Bangladesh’s record 5th wicket partnership of 148 runs pairing with Test captain Mushfiqur Rahim in a crucial moment of the match.
After the Friday’s match, Shakib became the 12th player in the world to score a hundred and grabbed four wickets in an ODI match.
Shakib is also the fourth after Steve Waugh, Sanath Jayasuriya and Jacques Kallis to score 2000-plus runs and take 100 wickets at home.
Earlier, Bangladesh completed their first-ever historic 3-0 series victory mission in the longer version of cricket defeating Zimbabwe by 186 runs in the third match at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chittagong.
The Bengal Tigers won the second Test by 162 runs at Sheikh Abu Naser Stadium in Khulna and the first win by three wickets at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium, Dhaka.
After the first-ever 3-0 series win, Bangladesh advanced to number nine in the ICC Test rankings with 32 rating points pushing back to Zimbabwe to the 10th and last place with 18 rating points.
In the three-match test series, Test all rounder Shakib Al Hasan scored 251 runs, including a century with 137-run in the first innings of the second Test, and grabbed 18 wickets to be adjudged as player-of-the series for the third time.
Meanwhile, all rounder Shakib Al Hasan wrote the script in the second Test in Khulna as he entered the record book as the 3rd cricketer after Imran Khan (1983) and Ian Botham (1980) to score a century and to claim 10 wickets in a Test match in the Khulna Test. The Tigers will play the remaining three ODI’s against the visiting side at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on November 26, 28, and December 1.
There is still no change in the Bangladesh and Zimbabwean squad for the second ODI.
Bangladesh squad (possible): Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Mashrafe Mortaza (captain) Arafat Sunny, Rubel Hossain/Jubair Hossain and Al-Amin Hossain.
Zimbabwe squad (possible): Sikandar Raza, Hamilton Masakadza, Vusi Sibanda, Brendan Taylor, Regis Chakabva, Elton Chigumbura (captain), Solomon Mire, Tinashe Panyangara, Tendai Chatara, Tafadzwa Kamungozi and John Nyumbu.